Let’s enjoy our leisure

Holy muffins!

How’re you all? I was hoping to take some time this pre-afternoon (made that up) to make some sort of point. Most of the people I know have deeply-rooted hobbies, whether it be in art, travel, or reading, among other things. There’s a dark side to this, in that we live lives free enough from strife that allow us to spend our free time in luxury. Many people exist who cannot practice self-expression because they are so mired in work or unfortunate expenses or devastated environments.

So, as you read the frolicks of my brain, perhaps be thankful you have the time to waste doing so. This is all a subjective abstraction, anyway. Intellectual pride isn’t in my interest.

A quick note: Jessie’s favorite director is Luis Bunuel. I know of Bunuel, but the only film I’ve seen involving him is the famous Un Chien Andalou, an avant-garde short he did with Salvador Dali. I finally got around to see my first full-length Bunuel last night, called Phantom of Liberty. It’s known as one of his funniest movies, and it succeeds with its absurdist humor. The film doesn’t involve emotional attachment; the way it’s shot, with its distant and jarring camera angles, shows that this is a film meant to disrupt and discomfort. Bunuel presents vignettes of backwards situations, that trick the viewer quite a bit before reaching strange conclusions. I began to feel like the screen was the natural audience, peering out into my falsehoods, but never in too serious a manner. With Bunuel, I’ve learned, comes context, and while this clearly isn’t his most surreal film nor his most allegorical or image-laden from what I’ve heard about him, I’ve decided to not fully review the film; as is, I’ve described what it felt like, but nothing about what Bunuel was factually doing with specific scenes and images. I’ve become a bit interested in his films, although I’m far more interested in getting to know directors with more emotional impact, such as Tarkovsky and Kurosawa.

I’ve work at four and could stand for a cup of coffee.

No Responses to “Let’s enjoy our leisure”

Leave a comment